h1

The Phoenix Tavern

April 5, 2015

The Phœnix Tavern in Swan Street (formerly Cow Lane), Northampton, is long gone. When I found this picture (so long ago I’ve forgotten where I found it) I thought of the Phoenix Tavern in Chapelizod, which recurs in James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake. Chapelizod is the place most closely associated with Issy in the novel, the written character into whom Joyce has transformed his living daughter, Lucia (Eide 2002: 142).

Phoenix North

The Northampton pub would already have gone (I think) by the time that Lucia Joyce was sent, in 1951, to St Andrew’s Hospital in that town. Here she stayed for over thirty years. She died on December 12th 1982 after suffering a stroke.

Reference

Eide, M. 2002. Ethical Joyce. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

